Weekly Workouts: 12/30 – 1/5

20140106-194841.jpg

Hills for Monday

Monday (12/30) – HILLS! 7.00 miles running, .75 mile walk cool-down.

Met up with my running friend/partner, from now on will be referred to as Run Friend (it’s easier than having to explain who she is every time I discuss a run we did), at a coffee shop.  We like meeting at this spot because 1. There are clean bathrooms, 2. When it’s cold, we can grab a cup of coffee/tea/croissant to warm up 3. If we forget snacks, fuel, water, we can always just grab it there.  Plus, we live on opposite ends and it’s a spot right in the middle.  We were shooting for 7-8 miles, with a hill thrown in.  We headed for the hill first and it was tough; I hadn’t purposely gone and run hills in a very long time.  By the time we were over the hill, down the road, and then looping back over the hill we were at 4ish miles and my stomach was misbehaving.  The temperatures had dropped at least 5-10 degrees at this point and rain clouds were moving in.  We decided to do an out and back loop of the two side neighborhoods we would pass on the way back to the cars and then call it a day.  I couldn’t find a good rhythm or a comfortable feel during this run.  I was more concerned with my stomach, how cold it was getting, and the wind that was picking up.  Needless to say, this was not my best run by a long shot.

20140106-192536.jpg

New Year’s Eve Dinner

Tuesday (12/31) – 0 miles; New Year’s Eve.  Trae and I had tried to make reservations for P.F. Changs, but they were booked as early as 3:30PM.  Who wants to go to a New Year’s Eve dinner at 3:30?? Then we decided to try a local café, which we were sure wouldn’t be crowded… Much to our surprise, we walked in and it was PACKED! (2+ hour wait!)  So we decided to just go to Chili’s across the street and meet my parents for dinner.  We walked right in,  had no wait, and sat right at the bar.  Trae and my dad were very excited about this, the Duke and Texas A&M bowl game was on, and they could easily watch it from where we sat.  I certainly wasn’t arguing about going to Chili’s on New Year’s Eve.  I love Chili’s, especially their chips and salsa.

20140106-194907.jpg

Wednesday (1/1) – 4.2 miles, Went over to my parent’s house so I could make use of their circular neighborhood loop.  I really like running in their neighborhood because I can go without a watch and know exactly how far I’m running.  It also allows me to go water bottle/pack free because it’s a short loop, and I can stop whenever I feel like it or add just a little extra distance.  The loop that I go around is 1.4 miles, perfect.  My mom decided to hop on her bike and join me; my dad even came out for a loop around.  I went a total of three times around for 4.2 miles, my first miles for 2014.   I was really excited to add them to the Run This Year: 2014 log as soon as I was finished.

image-50

9-Way Abs

Thursday (1/2) – Abs & Arms, Met up with my mom for a quick morning workout.  We both completed a circuit of 9-Way Abs.  Then we did our own circuits of arm workouts; I followed along to Blogilates Arms on Fire, and wow, this is killer (or maybe I just have really weak arms)!  When I got home from work later that evening I completed the Erin Motz:  Yoga for Abs 10-Day Challenge, Day 1 Video.

20140106-192647.jpg

Race attire for the 10-miler

Friday (1/3) – 0 miles, saving up for the race tomorrow!

20140106-194851.jpg

Distance Series Race #1

Saturday (1/4) – 10 miles, Tidewater Striders Distance Series, Race #1 (don’t want to spoil too much, as I plan to write a review of the race sometime soon).  I felt really, really good during this race.  My toes and feet were pretty much numb from the cold during the first 3 miles, but I warmed up enough over the course of the race.  I don’t think the temperature reached higher than 30 over the course of the race.  I finished in 1:38:58 (my watch), 1:39:00 (race clock), with an average pace of 9:53/mi.

Total Miles:  21.95 miles

Run This Year, 2014 km = 22.85 km

This week I plan to get a run Tuesday morning (3.1 miles) if the windchill isn’t too bad, Wednesday (4 mi), Thursday or Friday (5 mi), and a Sunday long run (12 miles), for a total of 24.1 miles.

How’s the wintry weather in your area?! It’s about to be very cold in VA! 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts: 12/30 – 1/5

  1. It’s way too cold to run here in New York! The treadmill and I are becoming excellent friends.
    I think it’s fabulous that you have a running friend- I’m super jealous! It’s also such a great way to bond with friends. Must get on that for 2014.

  2. It’s freezing in Arizona lately! I am sure most people wouldn’t consider 40 degrees cold but I am a wuss! Hence why I’ve been doing my heavy miles on the weekend when the sun is out and running on the dreadmill during the week. Absolute worst! haha

    Thanks for your weekly workout recap! Nice mileage too 😀

Leave a Reply

