2013: A Year of Running

yearofrunning-225x300

(Grab the image button above and share your Year of Running too!)

Miss Zippy has posted a link-up for bloggers to share their Year of Running for 2013. I thought this was the perfect way to end my blogging hiatus and start fresh for the upcoming year. I changed a few of the questions to better represent the year that I had with running.

Speaking of hiatus, I took a break from blogging in October for a couple of reasons. 1. I needed to focus on grad school term papers (25 pages!!) and final projects and I had a group project to attend to (mind you, all three of us lived in three different states!). 2. After my injury, I was feeling a little less than inspired and needed to find myself in terms of running. I was having a hard time adjusting to a much slower pace when I had come so far with speeding it up. I was frustrated and angry and talking about it was one of the last things I wanted to do at that point. The injury is all healed and I’m back out there running. I have signed up for multiple races in 2014 already and I have found my motivation again. I am so looking forward to blogging again and sharing the journey that will be 2014 with you. On that note, here is My Year of Running: 2013!

Crossing the finish line.

Crossing the finish line of my first half marathon, The Run for the Dream Half.

  • Best race experience? I ran my first half-marathon this past Spring. The Run for the Dream Half-Marathon was held in Williamsburg, Virginia and took runners through Colonial Williamsburg, over a beautiful bridge with a great view, and finished with a lap around William & Mary’s Stadium. This experience was so amazing and had me itching for more running.

image-19

  • Best run? My best run was actually a shorter 4ish mile run that I did when I was on vacation in the Outer Banks. I went running one afternoon by myself on the beach and through the neighborhood. I wasn’t aiming for a specific time or distance. I just wanted to run and enjoy the day. I ended up running with an average pace of 8:30-something. This was a breakthrough for me and encouragement that I needed. I realized that I could push myself so much more and that I had the potential to be so much faster.

image2

  • Best new piece of gear? I love my Garmin Forerunner 10, but this year my favorite piece of gear would have to be my Camelbak. This hydration pack goes on every long-distance run with me. It holds my keys, my phone, all my snacks, and enough water to last me 15 miles on a hot summer day (seriously, that’s how far it got me on a trail run back in August).

20131011-135348.jpg

20131011-135241.jpg

  • Best comeback moment? Running the Crawlin’ Crab Half Marathon after being injured and untrained for two months. I had already deferred my entry to the Richmond Marathon (which I now plan to run November 2014), I was not going to defer the half. I was so determined, but I was terrified just the same. I ended up running a faster time then I had hoped for and had zero ankle pain during the race.

image-30

  • Goals accomplished? I ran my first “official” half-marathon.  I tried my first hot yoga class and loved it.  I started a blog.
wildthimg

My injury had a few silver linings… Wild Thing Pose

  • I surprised myself when… I joined a running group and attended meet-ups by myself, and then made a friend whom I run with on a regular basis now …I attended a yoga class at a random studio while on vacation by myself …I took up other activities during my injury and improved my flexibility and overall strength …
colorrun

Color Me Rad 5k with family, November 2013

  • Moment of Pride? My little sister who is in no way a runner, ran her first 5k with me and my two cousins.  I was a proud sister. Speaking of cousins, the cousin on the right who I’ve talked about before, the cross country runner, has also made me extremely proud.  She joined the cross country team this year as a freshman and not only did amazing, but dropped her average pace 2:00+ minutes in a matter of two months.  She also started indoor track for the winter season and broke her school’s record for the mile (1600m) at the very first meet. She has an incredible future ahead of her with running and I can’t wait to see it happen.

How was your year of running in 2013?
Did you accomplish your goals?
What was your favorite running moment?

5 thoughts on “2013: A Year of Running

Leave a Reply

