Marathon Training?? Week 13 (kind of)…

Week 13: 9/02 – 9/08

I am at a point with this ankle thing, I don’t know what else to call it, where I don’t even know if these weeks should be declared “marathon training.”  I haven’t run at all in the last two weeks, but of course not by choice.  I have even contemplated going for a run and just sucking it up, but then thought better of it.  You really have no idea how much you love something until it’s ripped right out of your hands.  Cliché as it may sound, I need to be running, I really feel incomplete without it. I hate to admit it, but it’s giving me a case of the blues too.  I just feel down; it must be the missing endorphins.

I have taken up yoga as my stress reliever until I can get back out there.  So far it’s been okay.  Don’t get me wrong, I love yoga.  But it’s a different sort of “rush” or in this case “calm” than what I feel when running.  And riding the bike, it’s a good source of cardio, but it’s just not the same.

I finally made an appointment with the doctor and will hopefully be finding out what’s going on in there on Wednesday.  It’s the strangest thing because it hasn’t hurt at all in the last 4-5 days when I’m walking.  I only feel the ache (I can’t think of a good word to describe what it feels like) when I’m running.  It happens right as I lift that foot off the ground.  Weird.  Anyways, hoping to get a good diagnosis tomorrow.

20130908-214231.jpg

KT Tape work your magic.

Monday:  does walking around Dick’s Sporting Goods count? I went in for KT Tape and came out with all of this…  If and when I make it to the marathon, these are the shoes I plan on wearing.  Brooks PureFlow 2’s.  They are part of the Pure Project line, just like my PureConnect 2’s, but they offer a little bit of extra cushioning and support.  I figure 26.2 miles calls for a little extra support, especially if I’m coming back from an ankle injury.  I love the neon red color too!  They’ll match my new Pro Compression socks!

20130908-214310.jpg

Tuesday: walked .5 mile, cycled 10.36 miles, 9-Way Abs.  Wanted to test out the shoes so I took them for a short walk on the treadmill, and I also attempted to run… failed miserably though.  Ankle wasn’t ready.

20130908-214405.jpg

Wednesday: grad school took over on Wednesday 😦

20130908-214326.jpg

My guest post Naked and Afraid and the Long Run:  Where the Mind Is Capable of the Most was featured on The Daily Runner today.

20130904-191718.jpg

Thursday: Elliptical 3.33miles. Cycled 6.35miles9-Way Abs.

20130908-214340.jpg

Perfect mid-day snack

20130908-214255.jpg

This is only $2.00 at WaWa. Okay, maybe the caramel isn’t the best thing for you, but it tastes sooo good.

Friday: Cycled 11.35 miles. Had lunch with Sam.  She’s engaged!  And I’m a bridesmaid!  Super excited for her!

Saturday:  busiest day at the library ever.  That should count as a workout.  I was exhausted when I got home.  Trae had this brilliant idea:

20130908-214421.jpg

2 Words:  Hell Yes.

20130908-214414.jpg

YNot Stromboli

 

Sunday: Abs, Arms, Yoga

  • LegRaise/ToeTouch/Bicycle Ab circuit, 10:00min
  • 2 x 30sec Tricep Dips
  • 2 x 15 “girl” push-ups, with feet crossed and legs up
  • 30 minutes of Beginner Flexibility Yoga with Yoga Studio App
20130908-214427.jpg

This app is the best one I’ve found so far. When you hit play, you only see the instructor and she walks you through the entire time. It’s like I’m having a private yoga session.

TOTAL MILES & ACTIVITY: .5 miles walked, 28.06 miles cycled, 3.33 miles elliptical, 1 arm, 3 abs, 1 Yoga

13 weeks down, 10 weeks to go! My plan is to still be running the marathon.  I just might not make it to 22 miles during the training.  I have no shame in walking some of the marathon if I need to.  I just don’t want all of this to have to be postponed.  That would be the icing on the cake. Ugh.  I did however, check to make sure I could defer my entry in a worst case scenario.  I have until October 31st to figure it out. Fingers crossed that doesn’t need to happen.

How did your weekly mileage add up?

If you’ve been injured mid-training, how did you bounce back?  Did you ease back into it?  My last long run was two weeks ago at 15 miles.  Should I head back towards that number or aim somewhere closer to 10?

8 thoughts on “Marathon Training?? Week 13 (kind of)…

  1. Ankles. The bane of my life. I have spent so much time at a chiropractor getting my right ankle adjusted. It’ll be fine for a month or so and then the familiar sensation of an elastic band twisting will start up again. Its the main thing that impacts my running grrrrr…

  2. I’m a fellow SPA training for my first marathon (Richmond). Things were going well until last weekend’s first 18 miler, and I started hurting behind my knee (popliteus I think). I love those Brooks, and use them for my mid-distance runs. I use the Connects for speedwork and the Ghosts for long distance. My closet looks like a Brooks ad. Hope your ankle is on the mend soon, because here we go to Richmond. 🙂

    • Went to the doctor’s today and she said, I quote “it’s a simple case of tendonitis.” She didn’t really tell me much more. Good to know it isn’t a stress fracture or something that requires a long recovery. She said to go with how I feel but that isn’t all that helpful because it doesn’t hurt at all when I walk or bend it, only when I run. So strange. I’m going to give it until the end of this week then I’m going to try to run a mile to see how it feels.

      I’m sorry about your knee! I hope that starts feeling better too! KT Tape seemed to help me a little bit, so maybe that wouldn’t hurt to try. Hopefully we will both be recovered and feeling good come November!

  3. After my first 16-miler, I experienced pain in the same exact spot as you. The pain came on as an ache later that day, and by the end of the next day it was hard to walk. I took 10 days off running and then was able to ease back into training. A couple of weeks later, the pain came back just slightly and I learned it was stemming from a muscle knot at the bottom of my shin. If you roll a tennis ball over that area you might find a tender spot. If it’s tight, that knot pulls on the muscles that wrap around your ankle foot and basically causes tendonitis. Something like that is usually missed during diagnosis, so you might want to check it out. If you find one, you can work it out with the tennis ball in a couple of days and the pain should disappear! Good luck!

    • Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to tell me this! I will definitely be trying the tennis ball. I’ve started running again this week and while it doesn’t hurt in a painful way, it’s sore afterwards and feels stiff. I’ve been doing some extra stretches and icing but will definitely give this a shot!! Thanks again! 🙂

      • Not a problem! Stiffness and soreness afterwards is fine as long as it goes away within 24 hours. You can ice after running, but you also might want to find time to heat it every evening to loosen the muscles up 🙂 I really hope it’s improving, I totally understand how tough it is!

Leave a Reply

