Guest Post: Merrie from The Skinny Student

Hey there Reading Runner Girl readers! This is Merrie from The Skinny Student! I am a junior in college studying Speech-Language Pathology. I started blogged over the summer as a way to track my fitness progress and I got rid of that “Freshman 15” and started on my journey to a healthier life. At The Skinny Student you can find workouts, recipes, and healthy living tips.

I was paired up as Madelyn’s little in The Southern Beauty Guide‘s Big& Little Blogging Network. As I am VERY new to the running world (I just signed up for my first 5K) Madelyn agreed to share with me and my readers some tips for newbies and I would share some of my favorite workouts with her readers! This past Labor Day Weekend I was planning on creating a workout for you guys. However, this weekend went not as expected when I suffered a heat stroke while attending the first college football game of the year! (Sic ’em Baylor Bears!). The temperature that day was 100+ and I had been outside a good chunk of the day, I even had my first run! But, I had not prepared for the heat at all! And trust me guys a heat stroke is NOT something you want to experience. So, without further ado, here are 4 things I wish I would’ve done to avoid having a heat stroke.

1. Water– This is probably the most important thing you can do! Keep hydrated with COLD water! I did not have very much water throughout the day and at the tailgate the only water bottles I could find had been sitting out in the sun for a few hours (hot water isn’t the best idea).

2.  Light and Loose Fitting clothes– I was wearing a dark tight fitting tank. Wearing a light loose fitting dress, or even some light loose fitting gym clothes would’ve been a great option. Also, refrain from wearing layers. Hats are also a great idea to keep that sun out of your face.

3. SPF– Protect your skin from the sun! Be sure you apply that sunscreen (and no the sunscreen in your makeup does not count). When you get a sunburn it reduces your body’s ability to rid itself of heat.

4. Shade and AC are your BFF– Do not stand out in the heat for a prolonged period of time. Try to find shade or AC to cool yourself down.

Be cautious out it in the heat or exercising outdoors! If you suspect you are having a heat stroke, find shade or AC, get plenty of water and cold ice packs and don’t hesitate to call 911!

Instagram E-mail Pinterest Twitter Bloglovin Image Map
One thought on “Guest Post: Merrie from The Skinny Student

  1. Thanks for the advice! I’ve suffered from heat stroke before and I agree, it’s not fun. I always carry a water bottle around with me now in case I start feeling sick!

Leave a Reply

