Marathon Training Week 12

Week 12: 8/26 – 9/01

For lack of a better word, this week sucked training wise. I had a stomach “thing” Monday and Tuesday. I’m pretty sure it was my lactose-intolerance stomach getting mad at me because I had coffee with actual milk and cream cheese all in one sitting. So that put me back a few miles. Then, on Wednesday when I was finally able to run, I did intervals, which I love, and went out to hard and too fast, and pulled something in my ankle. I woke up Thursday morning to go on a run and went to step out of bed and felt a strange pinch on the outside of my right foot, about half an inch from the bottom of my ankle. So therefore, I haven’t run since.

Having an injury, even just this very minor one, sucks. Sooo bad. All I can think about is going for a run! My aunt is a physical therapist and she thinks that I probably just strained or pulled one of the small ligaments. There is no swelling, bruising, or severe pain. There’s just an uncomfortable feeling when I go to lift that foot up as I’m walking. As of today (Monday) it is feeling somewhat better. My plan is to see how I feel tomorrow morning. If it’s okay I plan to try to get in 2 – 3 miles on the treadmill. We’ll see how it goes. My aunt told me to run and see how it feels, if it’s only a matter of it being uncomfortable I can keep going, but if it turns to pain to stop. I’m terrified that I’m going to make things worse though.

Monday: rest day, after the 15 miler, this was much needed. My friend Sam had celebrated her birthday the week before so I took her out to dinner. The Yard House has a great happy hour – half price pizzas, appetizers, and really good drink prices – so we headed there.

image-37

Delicious chicken, tofu, and pine nut lettuce wraps

image-38

Happy Birthday!!!

image-41

Tuesday: another rest day, horrible stomach ache ūüė¶

Wednesday: 6 miles.

  • .5 mile warm-up/cool down walking
  • 1 mile easy run – 9:39
  • 3.5 miles, intervals: 1min x 8:00pace, 1 min x 10:00pace, 1min x 7:30, 1min x 10:00, 1 min x 7:00, 1min x 10:00, repeat
  • 1 mile easy run – 10:14

Thursday: rest day, recovering injury

I was featured on The Skinny Student Blog this past Thursday…

image-3

Friday: 1.5 miles, walked. 4.4 miles, cycled, 17.6mph. Wanted to see how my ankle felt. Tried to run but it was questionable and I didn’t want to make the injury worse than it was. Walking doesn’t really hurt so I did a mile and a half on the treadmill at a slow pace. Then, I wanted to get some kind of cardio in. I jumped on one of the lower seated bikes and did a “Hill Ride” for 4.4 miles, 15:00min.

Something good did happen on Friday, so at least there was some silver lining… I received my first pair of Pro Compression Marathon socks in the mail. I had found them for a great deal ($25) on Groupon!!

image-45

image-47

Me and my new socks were even featured on Runnerd’s Instagram page! Go follow them, @teamrunnerd, for lots of running motivation and long distance runners. You can also tag your photos #runnerd and maybe they’ll feature your photo too!

image-4

Saturday: yet another rest day… this is starting to get depressing…

Sunday: 1.5 miles cycled, 16.9mph. Ab/core routine. First day of arm workouts.

Trae and I went to the gym and warmed up on the bikes.  Then he put me through a tortuous ab routine, although to give him credit, he did it right alongside of me.  Leg raises, toe touches, and bicycles, all done in a mixed up routine.  60 sec here, 60 sec there for 10 minutes, with a few 15 sec breaks in between.

image-48

image-49

I decided that I should probably start working on my upper half. ¬†I don’t want to be disproportioned with my legs being significantly more muscular than my arms. ¬†I have tiny little arms, with just about 0 muscle. ¬†Trae walked me through my first arm day… Don’t laugh when I tell you how little I did… it was my first day

  • 3 sets x 10 reps bicep curls
  • 1 set of 10 diamond push-ups
  • 1 set of 5 diamond push-ups (these things really make you feel scrawny…)
  • 1 set of 30 sec tricep dips

My arms are definitely feeling it today.

I’m so sad that I can’t tell you about the 16 mile long run I was supposed to do on Sunday… stupid injury… seriously, this thing is ruining my life right now. You have no idea how much you love to run until you can’t run. Absolutely miserable…

20130902-103606.jpg

This is probably how my boyfriend feels about me at this point…

TOTAL MILES & ACTIVITY: 7.5 miles on my feet, 5.9 miles cycling, 1 ab/core workout, 1 arm workout

*Coming Up This Week*

  1. This Wednesday, September 4th, I will be guest blogging on The Daily Runner (the link takes you to my post!)
  2. This week I will be posting the 9-way Ab routine (with pictures) that I’ve been doing/posting in my training logs…
image-50

Sneak Peek: 9-Way Abs

12 weeks down, 11 weeks to go! РYikes!  Really hits you when the number of weeks trained is more than the number of weeks left to go!

How did your weekly mileage add up?

How do you deal with an injury?  What about when it falls right in the middle of your training?!

Anyone find it beneficial to add arm workouts?

Fingers crossed I’ll be back on my feet this week!

2 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 12

  1. Sorry about your foot! I always seem to have knee issues that pop up at the worst moments in my training. I hope it starts feeling better soon! Also, great buy on the compression socks! I’m thinking about getting a pair since everyone says how awesome they are!

  2. I am having problems after last week’s training as well. Seems like a lot of people are hitting that burn-out and/or injury road block at this stage. My whole right leg is jammed up, mostly my calf and my heel and arch. It’s SO frustrating. Hope you are healing up well.

Leave a Reply

