Apologies & Intervals

Let’s get this out of the way and start off with the apologies first…

  1. I am so sorry for the lack of posts this week.  I had a horrible stomach thing Monday night and Tuesday and just wasn’t feeling it.  I was still going to work so by the time I got home, bed was all that I could think about.
  2. I am sorry I’m not sorry for bragging that my Starbucks has Pumpkin Spice early…

Image

So, if you have graciously forgiven me, I can move forward…

I was finally able to go for a run Wednesday night… FINALLLLLYYYYYY.  I must really be addicted to running.  The only thought that really concerned me while being sick was, “Ughh, this is so going to kill my mileage this week…”  I wasn’t thinking the logical things like “hmm, I wonder what’s wrong with me?” or “maybe I should go take some medicine.”  It was all about how this was taking away from my running.  Maybe I’m slightly delusional from all the pumpkin spice…

I decided that the quickest way for me to get a run in and add an extra mile or so in the time I had, was to do intervals…  I, however, love intervals…

image-1

And, apparently, so do you…

image-2

Therefore, I thought I would share my favorite interval runs with you.

Repeat Intervals

  •  warm up walk/easy running (up to you for distance)
  • 400m (.25mi) @ 5k pace
  • 400m (.25mi) @ recovery pace
  • 800m (.50mi) @ 5k pace
  • 800m (.50mi) @ recovery pace
  • 1,200m (.75mi) @ 5k pace
  • 1,200m (.75mi) @ recovery pace
  • Repeat to achieve desired distance
  • cool down – 1 mi @ very light easy pace

Ladder Intervals

  • 1 mi warm up @ light, easy pace
  • 30 sec. sprint, 30 sec. recovery
  • 1min sprint, 1 min recovery
  • 2 min sprint, 2 min recovery
  • 4 min sprint, 4 min recovery
  • 2 min sprint, 2 min recovery
  • 1 min sprint, 1 min recovery
  • 30 sec. sprint, 30 sec. recovery
  • Repeat to achieve desired distance

Triple Threat Intervals (note the paces for these are what I use, change to fit you)

  • 1 mile warm up @ light, easy pace
  • 1 min @ 8:00min pace (7.5mph on treadmill)
  • 1 min recovery @ 10:00min pace (6.0mph)
  • 1 min @ 7:30min pace (8.0mph)
  • 1 min recovery @ 10:00min pace (6.0mph)
  • 1 min @ 7:00min pace (8.5mph)
  • 1 min recovery @ 10:00min pace (6.0mph)
  • Repeat to achieve desired distance
  • 1 mile cool down @ light, easy pace

Minute x Minute Intervals

  • 1 mile warm up @ light, easy pace
  • 1 min sprint
  • 1 min recovery
  • Repeat to achieve desired distance
  • 1 mile cool down @ light, easy pace

Remember that the intervals with specific paces are tailored to fit my running needs and goals.  If an 8:00min pace is easy for you than make it a 7:00min pace, etc. and vice versa if that’s too fast.

 

Do you love intervals?

What are your favorite interval workouts?

Track, treadmill, on your normal run route?  Where is your favorite place to do them?

Intervals

6 thoughts on “Apologies & Intervals

    • and when I see pumpkin spice anything I’m full of mixed emotions- mix of YES this is delicious and sadness… this is the representation of the end of summer!

  1. I LOVE interval training. I felt like I did that this morning. I ran 6.01 miles but I started out really fast, sped up, faster, slowed down, then ran my normal comfortable pace etc. I decided it was a backwards tempo run haha. Crazy how our runs sometimes run us.

    Great post, as always. Don’t be sorry! And no, your not the only runner who is more concerned about their next run instead of getting over sickness lol.

    -Ashley

  2. thanks for the inspiration! I have only run a 5K, but I’m beginning to finally get the running bug- it really does become a craving. I went at 6 a.m. because I knew it would be difficult to fit it into my day. It’s a sickness!

  3. I’ve had that thought about missing runs many times! I even felt that way this week! And I’ve never tried running intervals, I’m still kind of a newbie to all this training stuff. I need to get faster and this looks like it would help me do that, so I’ll need to try it out soon!

Leave a Reply

