Marathon Training Week 11

Week 11:  8/19 – 8/25

Ahh back on track! This week was really good running wise. I was able to get 30+ miles in, some yoga, and even a PR! Plus the weather has been amazing, especially during my long run. It’s crazy how much better you feel when there is a nice breeze and no humidity. It definitely makes all the difference for my runs.

Monday: rest day, chilly (for summer) weather  and pre-season football had me craving chili really bad.  Made a big pot with ground turkey, kidney beans, corn, green beans, and brown rice.  It was exactly what I wanted.  So delicious.

image-33

Tuesday:  5.5 miles, woke up semi-early to make sure I had time to get in a decent amount of miles. Ran 5 miles, 46:49, with an average pace of 9:21.  Walked .25 mile before and another .25 after the run for a warm-up/cool-down.

Wednesday:  9-way abs and 1 hour yoga.  A while back, I used to get up at 5:00am to make it to a morning yoga class before school.  Then, later in college, I had another friend Katie who would meet me for an afternoon class whenever I could get there.  Yoga is not a new venture for me, however, with all this running, I am not as flexible as I used to be, thus it has become a struggle.  I really believe that yoga is beneficial and have a couple of friends offering to try hot yoga with me, so I’m really excited to get back into it.  Until then, I had to resort to my mat, my Tara Stiles yoga book, and my house…

image-21

taking a break between side-planks

image-26

Top: Warrior 3 pose, Bottom: Half- Moon Pose

image-25

Triangle Pose

 

Thursday:  4.10 miles, ran 1 mile warmup/cool down, light running/walking, 5k for time, 26:30, 8:32 avg. pace

Friday:  6.10 miles:  I wanted to sleep in since Friday was my day off and I had plans at noon, so I resorted to going to the gym around 4:00pm.  This wasn’t ideal.  I had eaten a big lunch with my mom and sister and was tired from the day.  Running wasn’t necessarily what I wanted to do at that point in the day but I couldn’t not run.  I was having a love/hate relationship moment with running on Friday.  I decided on some intervals.  They are my favorite run on the treadmill.  They go by so fast because you’re so focused on watching for a specific distance or time.  Here was my plan of attack…

  • .5 mile warm up, light running/walking
  • 1 mile easy run – 10:01 pace,
  • 13 x 1 min @ 7:00 – 7:30pace followed by 1 min recovery at 10:00pace = 3.10 miles, PR, 25:54
  • 1 mile run – 9:35 pace
  • .5 mile cool-down, light running/walking

… and attack, I did.  Those intervals FLEW by AND I finished with a 5k PR!  So glad I didn’t skip Friday’s run.  Try the intervals out for yourself, they are actually pretty fun and a “mind-tricking” way to get in a decent bit of miles and beat treadmill boredom.  The mile run before and after were really nice too.  The before had my legs feeling loose and ready for the speed, and the after mile, while I wasn’t looking forward to it, was the perfect ending.

Saturday:  rest day

image-28

Mason-jitos at HK!

image-29

Sunday:  Long Run, 15 miles, 2:39:02, avg. pace 10:36.  Wow. What a beautiful morning for a long run.  Couldn’t have asked for better weather.  The sun was out, but it was cool and breezy, with hardly a bit of humidity.  So refreshing compared to my usual summer long runs.  The running group I am a part of finally posted a Sunday long run so I signed up and was excited to get out there.

image-31

Had a slight malfunction with my watch for the first 1.7 miles. I forgot to turn the locator on and started running. And I wasn’t willing to stop to let it “find me.” We made it to one of the water fountains and I finally had the GPS running correctly.

Anyways, I ran with “running friend” for the first 5 miles, and then finished the last 10 miles with two of the other group members who are training for a 12-hour run (an event where you run/walk for 12 hours straight and whoever ends up with the most mileage wins… still wrapping my head around that one).  Their long runs are based on how many hours they need to run, not necessarily miles.  Talk about having some crazy physical and mental ability… One of the guys was running for 5 hours on Sunday!

Screen Shot 2013-08-26 at 9.19.41 PM

Elevation (Green) / Speed (Blue) Chart for the last 13.30 miles of the 15 mile run

We went through some trails I hadn’t ventured through yet and I loved it.  Lots of sand, one really intense incline, lots of other decent hills and inclines to go up and back down, and a solid 15 miles.  I was extremely surprised at myself that I kept up with them and wasn’t ready to stop at any point.  It was probably the best long run I’ve had all summer.  It really is crazy what the change in weather is bringing for my running.

I experimented with some new run-food too.  I brought pretzel sticks and one of the Nature Valley Dark Chocolate Granola Thins.  I really think that having the food at the 5-mile point made ALL the difference during the run.  I didn’t get hunger until the very end of the run and I was solid in the energy department.  I didn’t feel weak or tired or empty.  I’ll definitely be using actual food from now on.  It sits so much better with my stomach and actually gives me the energy that I need.

Also, for the first time since receiving my Garmin as a gift, I uploaded my activity to Garmin Connect.  Ahhh-mazing.  I can’t believe that little watch holds all those maps and all of that information.  I wish I had realized I could gather all of that data from it sooner!

Screen Shot 2013-08-26 at 9.16.17 PM

* Note * – this is only for the 13.30 that was completed with my Garmin. These details are missing the first 1.7 miles.

TOTAL MILES & ACTIVITY:  30.70 miles, 1 ab/core workout, 1 hour yoga

11 weeks down, 12 weeks to go!

How did your weekly mileage add up?

Are you excited for the fall temperatures?  How much does it change your running?

Anyone else eat actual food on a long run?

5 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 11

  1. I seriously am a huge believer that running at humidity is just like training at altitude. All of sudden when there is 0% humidity, running becomes so much easier and you have air to breathe!

  2. I didn’t upload my runs onto Garmin Connect for the first time until months after getting my watch. Haha glad someone else took their sweet time like I did. The site really is awesome though!

Leave a Reply

