Try New Things.

Let’s face it, trying new things can be exhilarating and terrifying all at once.  Whether it’s trying a new food, taking a new route on a run, or taking a new class.  While some new adventures may be easy for some, change and newness is seen as scary for others.

I’d call myself an “in-betweener.”  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve found myself being more comfortable with new situations, new ideas, and new experiences.  Before a few years ago, getting me to try something a simple as a new food, was a struggle.  While I am still a very picky eater, I am much more inclined to trying new food than I was back then.  I am also much more confident in terms of doing things alone, which also used to be a struggle because I was/am still a teensy bit shy…

Trying new things wasn’t something I intended to do a lot of this year, it seems that trying new things has become a habit of sorts.  Looking back on this past year, I’ve been extremely adventurous this year…

  • I decided to start training for a half marathon, and did it.

375710_10201206658194318_1784242628_n

  • I ran the half marathon alone.
pic1

Still missing these lovely ladies from my previous workplace. It was a little family.

  • I had to leave my previous job of three years.  I applied for my first out of college job, was hired, and am still currently working there.
  • I joined not one, but 3 different running clubs/groups.  (One was more recent and haven’t had a chance to go to any of the meetups due to my schedule.  I do plan on going soon though).

Presentation1

  • I tried red and yellow peppers and have found a new favorite snack.
  • I tried caviar and will never eat it again.
  • I learned la langue des Français.  (It was required but I didn’t take the easy way out and take Spanish, which I was already semi-comfortable with from high school)
  • I tried salad and eat it multiple times a week. (YES. I know this one probably shocked everyone.  Until this year, salad was not on my list of things to eat.  I could never get past the texture… don’t ask me what changed…)
image-4

…putting myself out there as in showing you how gross and sweaty mid-run pictures can be…

  • I started a blog and am putting myself out there in a way I never thought I could.
  • I decided to train for a marathon and have registered and am in the midst of training.1016520_602082549831411_1397849796_n
  • I will be running said marathon alone.

pic3

  • I decided to apply to graduate school.  I was accepted and I start my online grad school program in less than 2 weeks.

While some of these changes and new experiences were easier and less painful than others, it doesn’t discount the fact that I had to step out of my comfort zone.  And I can honestly say that I have no regrets, even trying the caviar, because at least now I can say that I’ve tried it.  Everything that I changed, tried, added to my daily routine, has been for the better.  I have found new friends, new hobbies, and new appreciations that I had previously been missing out on.

Trying new things has so many more benefits than drawbacks.  The worst thing that’s going to happen is that you didn’t like what you tried (mind you, more serious changes obviously have more consequences, we’re sticking to the more mild end).  Trying new things gives you a stronger sense of self.  You’ll learn things about yourself that you never knew before.  It will give you confidence and courage.  It will keep you from becoming bored with where you’re at.

Now with all this talk about trying something new, I’ve been getting the itch.

pure-barre-lift-tone-burn

A Pure Barre studio has opened up in the area and I am really looking forward to trying it out.  I’ll most likely be going alone and while I’m nervous to try something new by myself, I have a feeling that I might find another fitness love.  The plan is to visit the studio tomorrow and sign up for a class.  I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

Pure-Barre

I am a little nervous in terms of going into this completely blind. I do not know anyone who has gone to a barre type class, nor do I have anyone volunteering to go with me.  I know the basics of what the class entails but not much more. Whether it’s my next favorite fitness class or a class I’ll never attend again, at least once the class is over, I’ll walk out with new skills, a workout completed, and a sense of accomplishment.  I can’t seem to find the negatives in that…

I’m challenging you to try something new!  Have anything you’ve been wanting to do but you’re letting fear or your own doubts stand in your way? I dare you to go try.

What’s the best “new thing” you’ve tried?

Has anyone attended a barre class?  Tell me about your experience!  Love it?  Hate it?

5 thoughts on “Try New Things.

  1. I love how honest and open this post was! The newest thing I have been trying is blogging, which I was very nervous about, but am glad that I have taken a stab at it. I have been wanting to join a running club and run a half marathon, but have been nervous about it. Your courage is super inspiring, and I may just go for it! Thanks! 🙂

  2. I have not tried a class but I know a family friend who owns Bar Method in DC and everyone who goes there (including men) say it kicks there butt. In the past year I have started running when I was in no way a runner. Basically just woke up one day and said “I’m gonna try this”. 😀 Great post!

  3. Congrats on trying and succeeding with so many new things! I ran my first 1/2 marathon earlier this year and it was such a great feeling to cross the finish line that I was brought to tears. Now I’m training for my second and looking ahead at a possible relay run early next year…new things are always coming!

Leave a Reply

