Marathon Training Week 9

 

Week 9: 8/05 – 8/11

 

Note:  I’m on vacation this week, so if there is a lack of posts it’s because I’m having way too much fun.  So please pardon me for my short and sweet posts…

Well I’d be lying if I said this was an awesome week.  It was slow, long, and just busy.  I hate packing, with a passion, and it was looming over my head.  It was also unavoidable.  I just wanted to be on vacation with the snap of my finger… but I am finally here.  So all is well!  This past week was just one big time constraint.  I couldn’t get my butt into gear for morning runs.  My warm comfortable bed was getting the best of me.  It was the cause of some shorter than planned runs and a lot of rushing around to get ready for work.  I decided that this week was going to be a “fall-back” week so the mileage was a little less than planned.

 

photo-26

Monday: rest day, tending to my tight calf.

 

Tuesday: another rest day, still wasn’t sure about my calf, so took an extra day for good measure.

photo 1

Mmm Rita’s custard sundae with rainbow sprinkles. A girl can treat herself every now and then right?

 

Wednesday: 7 miles, 5.5 miles (9:43 pace) run from 5 sets of Yasso 800s and an extra 800 a little bit slower for good measure.  I was feeling really good and decided to run a mile for time and did it in 8:00 flat.  Walked another half a mile to cool-down.

Thursday: 3.25 miles, this was one of those mornings that I just couldn’t with all my might get myself out of bed.  I only had time for a small run.  2.75 miles at 9:09 pace and another .5 mile around 10:30 for cool down.

 

Friday4.5 miles, yet another rushing around day… ugh stresses me out just thinking about it.  Ran 4 miles at 9:14 pace, and had another .5 miles for a cool-down.  I had a lunch date with my mom and sister that I had to rush to get ready for and be at.  It was worth the rush though.

photo 2

 

 

Saturday: Work and packing 😦

 

Sunday: Long Run, 11.5 miles, 10:27 pace,  ran through one of the larger neighborhoods in the area and was able to get a decent amount of miles without having to repeat any roads.  I think my first pair of Brooks are done.  They were killing my ankles and knees, they have about or almost 250 miles on them so the timing is about right.  Sad to let them go though.  Our relationship was way too short.  Here are a few views from my run…

photo 2

 

photo 3

 

photo 4

photo-27

photo-28

Well I’m off to enjoy my week at the beach.  Hope everyone else has great runs and lots of miles this week!

 

 

 

 

 

Total Miles: 26.25 miles

9 weeks down, 14 weeks to go!

How did your weekly miles add up?

Have a hard time parting with your favorite shoes?

9 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 9

  1. Parting with shoes can be hard. I just got my first pair of Brooks though, and I am excited to break them in. Have fun on vacation!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Chase #4 | Reading Runner Girl

Leave a Reply

