Marathon Training Week 7

Week 7:  7/22 – 7/28

OH what a busy week.  The library was crazy, it’s the end of the summer reading program so books are being returned by the tons.  Lots of places to be, people to see, things to do.  Let me tell you all about them…

photo-49

Monday: rest day;  Trae and I hit up a local beach restaurant for some crushes and tuna steak.  The sunsets this past week have been some really pretty ones so it was nice to sit out by the water for dinner.

photo-42

Mango Crush for him, Margarita crush for her

photo-41

photo-26

Tuesday: 8 minute abs video  and Victoria’s Secret Angel Butt Workout.  Both had me sore the next day.  I definitely recommend both of these videos.

Wednesday:  5.3 miles; 5 mile run at a 10:07 pace, and a .3 mile cool-down walk.

Thursday:  3.5 miles;  early morning, short tempo run.  Mile 1:  10:57, Mile 2: 8:57, Mile 3: 10:21.  Cooldown walk: .5 mile.

Trae’s mom had her birthday dinner this evening.  We went to one of the local marinas which has a very nice restaurant at the top of the boathouse.  We had a great time and the food was absolutely mouth-watering.  Here are a few pics from the dinner:

photo-31

photo-32

photo-34

Meet Kandis, Trae’s little sister 🙂

photo-29

photo-45

Trae’s sister and mom.

photo-30

photo-36

photo-46

Friday: 5.23 miles; Went to the track for some speedwork.  It was such a great workout.  I will definitely be adding more track days to my training.  I think that I will really benefit from it.  We decided to “climb up and down the ladder.”

100m, 200m, 300m, 400m, 500m, 500m, 400m, 300m, 200m, 100m, and somewhere along the way we ended up with an extra 100m.  It ended up totaling 1.93 miles, with an average pace of 7:27.

Then I ran another 3.3 miles when I got home to stretch my legs from all the sprinting.

I definitely recommend at least trying some speed work.  I think you’ll be amazed at what you can do.

I treated myself to a pina colada slurpee and hit the pool with my friend Sam afterwards.  The beach house we were hanging out at had the coolest artwork inside.  The walls were covered with the weirdest stuff.  I want to steal the kitchen table hanging light though…

photo-48

Seriously?! How cool is this light?!

Me and Trae met up with my mom and dad for dinner.  It was martini night!

photo-51

Dad, mom, and I

photo-52

“Fizzy” Navel. Champagne, peach schnapps, and some other stuff I can’t remember. It was good though!

photo-50

Saturday:  I had work all day.  Had a much-needed girls shopping night with my mom and my sister.

We hit our favorite stops, T.J. Maxx and Marshall’s.  I found some really great running stuff at T.J. Maxx.  I’ll have to do a running haul sometime this week of all the stuff I found!

photo-53photo-38

photo-54

Sunday: 13.13 miles.  Morning long run through the trails of a nearby tree farm.  I’m so mad, I keep forgetting to bring my phone along for my long runs.  I have a hydration backpack coming in the mail tomorrow and it has pockets, so I’ll have no excuse next week.  The tree farm was so pretty in the morning sunlight.  The trees reminded me of a van Gogh painting.  I’ll definitely be going back there.

photo-56

Sunday Runday look… a peek of some of the new TJMaxx gear.  New gear makes you feel so good on runs.  I’ll describe the feeling as sparkly… 

Total Miles:  27.16 miles

7 weeks down, 16 weeks to go!

How did your weekly miles add up?

What’s your favorite way to treat yourself after a really good run?

What’s your favorite distance for tempo runs?  How do you split it up?

Speed-Work?  I want to hear the different track workouts you do!

5 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 7

  1. Sounds like a great week! I’m from VA as well, the Hampton Roads area! I live in FL now.
    Can’t wait to start training for my second half. It’s in November in St.Augustine and I’m getting antsy LOL

  2. Pingback: Weekly Chase #2 | Reading Runner Girl

Leave a Reply

