Of Love & Running…

Looking for books to add to my never-ending, 50 million page long list of books I need/want to read, I found Born to Run:  A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen.  I like to read quotes from non-fiction books before I decide to read them, mostly because I want to share an opinion with the author.  This quote is one I found from the author, Christopher McDougall and it really struck me as true…

born-to-run-cover

“…there was some kind of connection between the capacity to love and the capacity to love *running*. The engineering was certainly the same: both depended on loosening your grip on your own desires, putting aside what you wanted and appreciating what you’ve got, being patient and forgiving and… undemanding…We wouldn’t be alive without love, we wouldn’t have survived without running, maybe we shouldn’t be surprised that getting better at one could make you better at the other.”

― Christopher McDougall, Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen

I think the author is on to something.  In order to enjoy running you definitely have to be patient.  In order to increase your stamina, your distance, your pace, you have to be patient in achieving those goals.  They won’t be conquered overnight or over the weekend, it requires a gradual build.  It also requires forgiveness on bad days.  It’s okay to have an off day, don’t beat yourself up about it.  We all have them.

There’s a fine line between pushing yourself and demanding.  Running shouldn’t be something you loathe doing.  If it is, it’s time to take a break.  You also have to be okay with the abilities you have.  I would love to run a sub-7:30 pace, but right now it’s not all that fathomable, and I’m okay with that.  I am perfectly happy with my 10:30 – 9:30 min pace.  If I somehow find myself faster, then by all means, I’ll be faster.  Striving to be better is one thing, getting angry that I’m not there yet is another.

Running has also given me another “thing” to call my own.  It let’s me get away for an hour or two at a time.  It allows me to have my own life outside of my relationship with Trae, with my own friends, events, and experiences.  Trae’s “thing” is golf.  While I accompany him on special occasions, this is his time to be by himself.  We need these separate hobbies so that we appreciate being together more.  It gives us something to talk about, something to learn from each other and we can root each other on.  Running helps me appreciate everything I have and can do.  It helps me think, it challenges me, and I love it all the more for that.

What are your thoughts on the quote?  Is there another quote that hits closer to home for your relationship with running?

Do you think these qualities (patience, forgiveness, appreciation) are that of most runners?

What do you love about running?

8 thoughts on “Of Love & Running…

  1. Very thought-provoking entry–I like it! I really like the quote you found but I do admit I have started this book numerous times and have been unable to finish it. It must get better, everyone I talk to loves it and its a bestseller—among non-runners…so that says something. I’ll have to give it another try down the road.

  2. This is a great book! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts after you read it. I also checked out ‘What I Talk About When I Talk About Running’ from the library this week! It’s next on my list after I finish ‘Gone Girl.’ Somehow I missed that you’re running Richmond too! Blogger meet-up!

    • A blogger-meetup sounds like a fabulous idea! Richmond was a last minute switch of plans. I had originally decided to run the OBX Marathon but I have family in Richmond and thought it would be more fun with a larger cheering section! So Richmond Marathon here I come.

  3. My husband read this book and LOVED it. It is insane how far these people run! They also refuel with a really low alcohol beer during their runs!

    • Funny you say that. I was reading an article from Runner’s World and they were talking about how beer is actually not a bad way to end a run. Maybe I’ll try it… It’d make for an interesting blog post, don’t you think?!

  4. I haven’t had a chance to read this book, but I can definitely say that I agree with everything you’ve said, and I will definitely be adding this book to my to-read list. I definitely struggle with reading about others who run even sub-8 miles and wishing I could do that on a regular basis, but like you said, I’m comfortable at my pace and and that is actually good enough. I look forward to checking out this book.

  5. BTR is one of my all time favorite books. I’ve read it twice. I love so many things about running. One is a run no matter how long, short, slow or fast makes me feel invincible. Like I can do anything!

Leave a Reply

