Anthem Richmond Marathon (November 2013) and the training plan from here.

 Well, there is no turning back now… I have registered, paid, and told the world that I’m running the Richmond Marathon in November.  This gives me a little less than 4 months to complete the rest of my training.

1016520_602082549831411_1397849796_n

So far, I think it has been going pretty smoothly, aside for the heat and multiple treadmill dates.  I’m getting in the mileage that I’ve set for each week and I haven’t hit a “why am I doing this to myself” wall yet.  *knock on wood*  I am in the middle of week 5 of Marathon training and now have 17 weeks left.  I have been adding a mile to my long run every week (I have a 12-mile run this weekend), and have left enough time to reach 26 miles, if I choose to take my training runs that far.  Even if I do go to that distance prior to the race, I’ll still have 3 weeks that I can use as cushion/taper/vacation weeks.  My other, shorter runs range from tempo runs to treadmill intervals with the distances at no less than 3 miles and so far up to 7 miles.  I have started to build these runs up, whether by increasing my pace, adding incline, or furthering the length.  I will continue to do so until I reach my tapering weeks.

anthem-richmond-marathon-logo-235

I am pretty excited about my decision to switch to the Richmond Marathon.  It has been named “America’s Friendliest Marathon,”  and from the reviews I’ve read, a lot of people agree. The website states: “Runner’s World Magazine named us a “Must Do” marathon in 2005 & 2009 and twice selected us as the site of their Marathon Challenge!”  The race is also described by Runner’s World Magazine:

This marathon starts and finishes in charming historic downtown Richmond, once the capital of the south. The scenic, fast loop course takes in all of the city’s old neighborhoods, traveling up Monument Avenue, past statues of Confederate soldiers and Richmond native and tennis star Arthur Ashe, through the campus of Virginia Commonwealth University, then alongside the James River. Along with the typical water and sports drink stops, this is probably the only race in the country that offers junk food stops, at miles 16 and 22, stocked with Gummy Bears, cookies, and soda. There are also two wet-washcloth stations, at miles 17 and 23, perfect for cleaning up for your finish-line photo. Three party zones set up along the way with free food, prize giveaways, and noisemakers for spectators and family means lots of enthusiastic, cheering support. The last mile features a fast downhill to the finish in the trendy Shockoe Slip area, where there are plenty of postrace goodies, including bagels, fruit, and pizza, and a band to celebrate your finish. (Runner’s World, January 2005)

JUNK FOOD STATIONS??? Music to my sweet tooth’s ears!  And as simple as a wet washcloth may seem, when I was handed one at the Run for the Dream Half Marathon, it was as if someone handed me gold.  It was just what I needed and felt amazing!  And since the race is located in Richmond, where a chunk of my family lives, it’ll be easier to have a bigger cheering section waiting for me on the big day.

According to the description, the course features rolling hills and a downhill finish, which I am sure I’ll be thankful for.  Runners will follow a road through the historic district and alongside the James River, making for a pretty scenic route.  Hopefully the trees will still be showing their fall colors.  Click the image of the course map to see the clear, .pdf version.

Presentation1

Because this will be my first marathon, I don’t have a clear idea about what a good finish time for me would be.  I’ll have a better idea once I work up to a 20-mile long run (training week 13) and see what pace I can last at.  Right now my goal is simply to finish.  Based on my half-marathon time, I’m hoping for between 4:30 – sub-5:00.  I’ll worry about getting faster once I complete my first marathon.  Time really isn’t that important to me for this specific race; no matter what I finish in, it’ll be a PR, right?!

Is anyone else running the Richmond Marathon?  Or any other Marathon?

Does your race have any cool features like a “Junk Food Station”?

What is your goal finish time?

What are you most excited/nervous about? 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “Anthem Richmond Marathon (November 2013) and the training plan from here.

  1. Richmond marathon weekend is such a great weekend here! It’s a great medium-large size marathon so it is not overwhelming with crowds but not like you are running in no-mans-land. It is hilly at parts so I recommend getting some hill work in your training but the view are magnificent. Running along the James River is one of my favorite runs. The downhill finish is BRUTAL —it is really really steep and trashes your legs. There is a lot of controversy about the finishers from the runners because the organizers have it that way so it ends on this island that is conducive to the post race party but it is really tough, most people worry about falling after already putting in all those miles! Other than that, the organizers do a great job with the expo, restrooms, and bussing your stuff to the finish line. I also recommend staying right near either the start or finish because parking in Richmond is really hard!!! Good luck!

    • Thanks for the luck and thanks for the advice! I read good and bad things about the finish, but overall it sounds like a good race. Do you recommend taking the course tour they offer the day before? Or is it something I can easily drive on my own?

      • It might be helpful to do the tour to see if anyone has any tips or advice but I think it is pretty easy to drive! I’ve never done the full or the half so I can only give you advice that I heard from friends but I did run the 8k that is part of that weekend and PRed so I do love the place! Everyone here is super nice and there is a HUGE marathon training team that meets every weekend (1500+ people!) so the camaraderie of the sport is really evident!

  2. SOunds like a fun marathon 🙂 I am running Milwaukee in early October, my 24th marathon hoping for a goal of 3:15 but an injury has kept me from ideal training so likely won’t be ready for that.

  3. I’m running Richmond as well – it will also be my first marathon 🙂 I’m pretty excited and the “America’s friendliest marathon” definitely influenced my decision 🙂

  4. You can drive the course on your own pretty easily. I’ve never done the tour, so I can’t say how valuable it is, but you might want to get a preview of the course just so you know what to expect. Unfortunately, the leaves will be off the trees by November, but there are some really scenic stretches of the course, especially along the river.

Leave a Reply

