Marathon Training Week 5

7/8/13 – 7/14/13

Wow.  This week flew by.  I can’t believe it is mid-July already!!! The weather this week was crazy and made getting runs in difficult.  Either it was extremely hot and humid or it was pouring buckets and buckets of rain. The weather in Virginia is ridiculously unpredictable and all over the place. Regardless, I finished the planned mileage…

So here’s how this week added up:

photo-22

Monday: 75 squats and went to the driving range with my friend Sam. Her and her grandfather (who golfs everyday) gave me some swing lessons. I can’t believe it, but I’m actually not that bad and I’m really excited to continue to get better.  I’m trying to be decent enough to play 9 holes with Trae by the end of the summer…

photo-23

Tuesday: 3.30 miles, early morning treadmill

Wednesday: 5.5 miles, trail run with local running club, 100 squats

photo-24

Beautiful sky on the way home

Thursday: 25 squats

Friday: rest day

Saturday: 4.5 miles followed by a really long stretch.  Trae and I spent Saturday night at one of our favorite spots.  Tequila Lime Chicken Fajitas for me, Steak Nachos for him.

photo-20

photo-19

Sunday: Long Run – 11 miles total (7miles outdoors, 4miles treadmill) I had gotten a late start and it was already in the mid-80s when I went out.  I recruited my mom to come ride her bike along with me.  We do this occasionally and it’s a nice way to spend some time together.  Talking to her during the run definitely keeps my mind busy.  Around mile 7 I was getting heat goose bumps and decided to finish the rest (4 miles) on the treadmill in the AC.

photo-16

My mom & I

photo-21

Just bought a hydration backpack and it should arrive this week. So glad I don’t have to carry this thing around anymore.

photo-18

Post-run Watermelon! Delicious!

After my run and spending some pool time at my parent’s house, Trae took me out to Bravo’s for a really nice dinner.  It was delicious and exactly the meal I needed after my long run.  I had a White Peach Sangria and the Chicken Parmesan Milanese.  Soooo good.  On our way home we were treated to a very pretty evening sky.

20130714-223215.jpg

Peach Sangria

20130714-223306.jpg

20130714-223228.jpg

TOTAL: 24.30 miles, 200 squats, hour at driving range

 5 weeks down, 17 weeks to go!

How did your weekly miles add up???

What’s your favorite post-run snack/meal???

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 5

  1. Awesome job this week! I know what you mean about the crazy weather. I have a feeling it’s going to be a treadmill week here in Ohio as well. It’s calling for 90+ and humid every day this week. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

